Nomenclature

Historical discussions (archived)

Followings are email correspondences that occurred during 2002-2003 to establish a nomenclature for non-C. elegans, non-parasitic nematode genes, mutations, transgenic strains, orthologs, etc.. The content is provided for historical purposes. Discussions were led by Dr. Paul Sternberg (California Institute of Technology USA). The current nomenclature guide is hosted by Wormbase (https://wormbase.org/about/userguide/nomenclature).

Nomenclature of non-C. elegans (and non-parasitic) nematode genotypes, transgenes, and mutant strains

Proposals (by Paul Sternberg)
Draft 1 (July 22, 2002)
Draft 2 (Oct 26, 2002)
Draft 2 revised (Oct 29, 2002)
Draft 3 (Oct 16, 2003) (latest revision)

Responses (by Proposal points)

Responses (by Individuals)

Responses (sorted by date)
Suggestions/Feedbacks (Draft 1)
Jonathan Hodgkin (Wed, 24 Jul 2002)
Ralf Sommer (Wed Jul 24, 2002)
Eric Haag (Tue Jul 23, 2002)
Bhagwati P Gupta (Wed, 24 Jul 2002)
David Baillie and Don Riddle (Wed, 24 Jul 2002)

Suggestions/Feedbacks (Draft 2)
Jonathan Hodgkin (Sun, 27 Oct 2002)
Eric Haag (Sun, 27 Oct 2002)
Leon Avery (Sun, 27 Oct 2002)
Bhagwati P Gupta (Sun, 27 Oct 2002)
Ralf J Sommer (Mon, 28 Oct 2002)
Erik Jorgensen (Mon, 28 Oct 2002)
Victor R Ambros (Mon, 28 Oct 2002)
Marie-Anne Felix (Mon, 28 Oct 2002)
Iva Greenwald (Mon, 28 Oct 2002)
Susan Strome (Mon, 28 Oct 2002)
Takao Inoue (Mon, 28 Oct 2002)

Suggestions/Feedbacks (Draft 2 revised)
Thomas Burglin (Tue, 29 Oct 2002)
Thomas Burglin (Tue, 29 Oct 2002)
Marie-Anne Felix (Tue, 29 Oct 2002)
Leon Avery (Tue, 29 Oct 2002)
Takao Inoue (Tue, 29 Oct 2002)
Erich Schwarz (Tue, 29 Oct 2002)
Eric Haag (Tue, 29 Oct 2002)

Suggestions/Feedbacks (Draft 3)
Marie-Anne Felix (Fri, 17 Oct, 2003)
Paul Sternberg (Fri, 17 Oct 2003)
Garth I. Patterson (Fri Oct 17, 2003)
David Bird (Fri Oct 17, 2003)
Scott Baird (Fri Oct 17, 2003)
David Fitch (Fri Oct 17, 2003)
Jonathan Hodgkin (Sat Oct 18, 2003)
Ronald E Ellis (Mon Oct 20, 2003)
Mark Blaxter (Thu Oct 23, 2003)
Eric Haag (Fri Oct 24, 2003)
Ronald E Ellis (Fri Oct 24, 2003)
David H. A. Fitch (Fri Oct 24, 2003)
Eric Haag (Fri Oct 24, 2003)
Paul Sternberg (Fri, 24 Oct 2003)
David H. A. Fitch (Sat, 25 Oct 2003)